Posted by: jā˜† | March 11, 2010

This is the Year of the Tiger!

My mom was born in the Year of the Tiger. She will be 72 years old this year on May 22nd. Maybe that’s why she is SO FIERCE!!!

My Mommy, the skydiver. Look at how adorable she is in her little purple jumpsuit!!!

Mommy jumped out of an airplane for the first time in her life on Monday. šŸ™‚ I am so so SO proud to say that my adorable little Mommy is a skydiver!!!

Check it out!!!

My brother and his fiance also jumped for the first time on Monday, too.
My brother’s video:

And his fiance’s video (handcam):

Unfortunately, I still had a lingering headcold and was recommended to not skydive. Boooooooo. I totally wanted to jump out of a plane with them for the second time in my life (my first time was just a 1/2 a year ago, for my 30th birthday). Alas, it was not to be on March 8.

The weather on Monday in Santa Barbara straight up sucked. It was cloudy and there were scattered showers in the morning and early afternoon even though it was really clear and quite nice in the early morning on the drive up to Lompoc. Also, it was COLD. We had been having sporadic rainy/windy weather in Southern California though, and conditions were messy since Friday night. I honestly can’t believe how bold my mom was, determined to jump out of an airplane despite less-than-ideal weather conditions. I have to be honest that I was a little nervous about the weather and how it could affect their experience…. But when I saw their parachutes floating down, my concern was dispelled as I was afraid they’d have the most trouble in a rain cloud…kind of like how there’s added turbulence when you’re taking a trip in an airplane, and it happens to go through a rain cloud.

In any case, because of the weather, she and Amy were unable to skydive from their desired elevation of 13,000 ft, on the pilot’s recommendation to jump at 10,500 ft. What was sacrificed was 15 additional seconds of freefall, and less-than-stellar videos and photos from mist-sprayed camera lenses. Also, they all had rough landings because it was so windy, which was a huge difference from my own skydiving experience last year in September. (Notice how different the format of the video itself is…plus, when I first went, we were asked to choose 2 songs to go in our videos–not so this time. Ah well.)

My first skydiving experience! (Yes, again! Clearly, I can’t enough of this video as it brings back such wonderful memories from an amazing experience!)

Notwithstanding all the negative aspects of the day, my Mommy, brother, and Amy all returned to Earth safely, and had a blast jumping out of an airplane. I AM SO SO SO PROUD OF THEM!!!!! Skydiving is definitely a once-in-a-lifetime experience, and words/pictures/video footage truly do NOT do it justice. Everyone needs to experience it at least once for themselves — as my mom did, at 71 years of age!

Everyone AND their mamas! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Categories

