Posted by: j☆ | March 29, 2010

Charting my own course

“We are all inventors, each sailing out on a voyage of discovery, guided each by a private chart, of which there is no duplicate. The world is all gates, all opportunities.” Ralph Waldo Emerson

I really wanted to share with you this quote that I spotted on one of my favorite healthy living/food blogs today.

Seriously though. I can’t believe how quickly time is flying.

Even though it seems I have all the time in the world these days, what with being *temporarily retired* and all, each day, week and weekend have gone by in the blink of an eye. Sheesh.

Sometimes, it’s a relief. Last week, I was in a bit of a downswing and not feeling too good about myself or my situation. But since this weekend, things have started turning around. The weather has been incredibly gorgeous, and so I’m thankful that I have been able to enjoy it by being outside at my leisure and not confined to an office. I have been getting back on track with my workouts, eating better, imbibing less, and feeling better overall. Also, I’ve just been doing some things here and there to help people around me, and that always helps ME feel good…giving really IS the best gift! So yeah. What’s that saying again? Oh yeah: Every dark cloud has a silver lining!

So, I will continue on this path of charting my own course while living fully in the moment and making the most of every. single. day. And hopefully, I can be more dilligent about chronicling some of my adventures and random thoughts. (I promise my next blog entry will be less vague, more detailed, and hopefully, more interesting! 🙂 )

By the way, the outfit I put together from my shopping expeditions at the end of last week turned out better than I expected, but I was definitely *overdressed*for my boyfriend’s family gathering. Oops. In general, I like to think that it’s better to be overdressed than underdressed…but then again, I don’t want to give the impression that I’m prissy or high maintenance either. Sigh. Ah well. Next time, I just need to be more careful about clarifying: asking him EXACTLY what the attire is, where the party is taking place (there’s a BIG difference between wearing pumps indoors and on a grassy lawn in the backyard–as I discovered this past Saturday!), and what he thinks everyone else will be wearing. And if all else fails, I’ll start carrying more than one outfit with me! 😉 Notwithstanding this little slip-up, I still had a great time at the party. Live and learn, I guess! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

