Posted by: jā˜† | April 7, 2010

Try Sleeping With A Broken Heart

Last night was such a feast of music, lyric, visual arts, and dance artistry. I LOVED IT. Alicia Keys is so talented and gorgeous with her strong voice through which she can be both commanding and vulnerable.

I had forgotten how much I love her music.

These songs took me back to when I first got a hold of one of her albums when I was living in Tokyo. Especially:
“If I Ain’t Got You”
“Diary”

Her song “Empire State of Mind” with Jay-Z takes me back to when I was living in NYC, and she did a full ballad-y version of this in the encore. Reina and I were kind of hoping Jay-Z would make an appearance and pop onto the stage during this song, but it didn’t happen (booo). Still, it was a fun song to dance around to. šŸ™‚

Not surprisingly, I cried during this song, which I do even in the car when it is played on the radio. “Like You’ll Never See Me Again” And I’ve cried–hard–in the car at this song, too. Just listen. “Try Sleeping With A Broken Heart”

I discovered a newer song that is absolutely breathtakingly gorgeous and cut through my heart last night: “Un-Thinkable (I’m Ready)”

And of course she performed some of her older hits “Fallin'” and “No One” .

Kaori-chan, thank you SO so much for inviting me (and Reina!) to the show and getting (us) tickets for no reason! ā¤ you, girlfriend!! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Categories

