Posted by: jā˜† | October 12, 2010

Ever Dealt with A Noisy Neighbor?

One of the neighbors with whom I share a wall is an international student. Typically, he lives quietly, and except for the cigarette breaks on his balcony, he really doesn’t bother me much.

Last night, he had a few male friends over, and they were LOUD. Not just loud, but it sounded like they were hitting the walls! Or maybe even wrestling (no, not like that–ew). I actually wasn’t too bothered by it as I crawled into bed at 11:30p.m. because I was so tired that I figured I would fall asleep easily.

The problem came at 4a.m. when I was abruptly woken by laughing, yelling, and stomping in their apartment, along with what sounded like pounding on the furniture that was hitting the wall behind my head! At first I thought it was an earthquake, until I realized that it was those freaking visitors next door who were making even MORE noise at 4-freakin’-a.m. than they were at 11:30p.m.!

So, here is my question: What would you do in this situation? I am curious to see how people typically respond to stuff like this. I can tell you what I did in response later, but I want to hear from you all first!

Responses

  1. Oh Jamie, I totally feel for you! We have a very similar issue — it’s been going on since January or so. We share a thin wall and the same floor board as our next door neighbor, and she tends to be very active at night, having friends over after midnight and partying well into 3 a.m. etc. We’ve had our downstairs write us a note because, they thought it was us, when it fact it was our neighbor.

    Anyway, the other night, at 2 a.m., for the hundredth time, the next door neighbors were playing music and dancing and talking very loudly and laughing — both of us couldn’t sleep, and it was a wonder M was still asleep. I thought she would wake up any time. B finally went next door and knocked on the door, and she came to the door and asked if it was a noise complaint — I think B just nodded and she turned it down.

    Many a time I have declared that we MUST move because of this neighbor. It’s so hard to know what to do – we want to keep a good relationship with our neighbor and don’t want to be mean, but I think some people just forget that there’s other people who lead normal hours… so what did you do?

    • Oh my goodness, Kumi!!! šŸ˜¦ šŸ˜¦ šŸ˜¦ That is a major issue…not like my once-yearly annoyance! Do you have a building manager or supervisor that you can discuss this issue with? Clearly, others are suffering too (i.e. the people below you and your noisy neighbor!) so this is something that really needs to be escalated. I’m so sorry that you have to deal with that person. How rude!!! I don’t understand how people can be SO BOLD and inconsiderate like that. It’s a very lucky thing that Mia wasn’t woken by the noise, but that may not always be the case especially as she gets bigger….

      The way I dealt with it was not as nice as what B did…I ended up laying in bed for a short while, wondering if I should:
      1. Get up and knock on the guy’s door to tell him and his friends to quiet down;
      2. Call the security to tell them to quiet down; (My apartment complex has a 24-hour security guard, but I know he tends to stick close to the leasing office lobby. One time I caught him deep asleep on the couches when I went to use the fitness room in a early morning workout. :/ )
      3. Bang on the wall we share and let him/them take a hint.

      I was so sedated and annoyed, and didn’t want to get up from bed, so I chose #3. It is not necessarily the best option for all cases, but it was the best option at the time…I didn’t even have to lift my heavy head off my pillow to do it (although afterward, my hand hurt from banging it on the wall too hard). But hey, it did the trick….

      Back to a more pressing issue…Kumi, you need to report your neighbor and get that issue taken care of by the building management. Don’t move just because of that person, especially if you like your apartment and neighborhood! Also, don’t suffer in silence just because you want to be a nice neighbor…that person is/those people are stepping all over you and THEY’RE the ones in the wrong!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

