Posted by: j☆ | September 27, 2011

32…almost!

I catch myself saying this a lot these days: I honestly cannot believe how quickly time is passing! When I was a child, grown-ups would always tell me how time passes by more and more quickly as you get older, and I’m frightened by how true this has been especially recently! Where have the last 6 months gone??? I can’t tell you where the last 6 months have gone, but I can tell you some of what I’ve been up to in the last half year:

*Completed a full marathon
*Enjoyed 6 miles in the mud with a team of other crazy kids who aren’t afraid to get dirty (yayuh!)
*Traveled to Japan on business SIX different times (whew!)
*Changed job titles and responsibilities, including shedding a uniform and inheriting a new (old) cubicle
*Enjoyed trips to Napa and Berkeley, including my alma mater (GO BEARS!)
*Spent time with family and friends and joined in on several celebrations of birthdays, a baptism, and a few engagements/baby bumps/marriages (not in that order!).

Needless to say, I’ve been keeping busy!!

What has snuck up on me while I haven’t been looking is my big day…and although I usually like to keep it on the down-low without having people make a big deal about it, I have been realizing how precious each day is, what with time flying so quickly recently. Each year we get to add to our age is a gift. Every day, each experience, every breath = a gift. So, although I’ll be working late into the night on my birthday here in Japan, I will savor it and celebrate it, thanking God and my parents for giving me life…even though for some reason I keep thinking that I’m turning 33 instead of *just* 32. (What did Aaliyah sing? Oh yes, Age Ain’t Nuthin’ But A Number!) Even though I’ll be stuck working on my birthday, it definitely helps that I’ll have my boo here with me, and that I have a nice trip to Kyoto and Tokyo with him to look forward to after all my work is done! Happy birthday to me!

Leave a Reply

Categories

