Posted by: jā˜† | March 6, 2013

Girl’s Day Japanese holiday – March 3rd

This was my first week back at work after the wedding + honeymoon, and it seriously has felt like the longest week EVER! Just a few more days until the weekend!!

Last weekend, March 3rd, was Girl’s Day in Japan and so my mother invited my brother, my *husband* and I over for a Girl’s Day-inspired dinner. I was so hungry that I totally forgot to take a picture of my huge plate! Instead I took a pic of the big wooden sushi bowl that my mom first made the sushi rice in and what little of the sushi remained after dinner.

20130306-215645.jpg

For dessert, we had Sakura mochi (my favorite!), regular tri-colored mochi and strawberries.

20130306-215933.jpg

We were stuffed! And my mother wouldn’t have it any other way.

Over the weekend, my husband and I hit our favorite Norm’s for a late lunch…and we ordered everything on the menu! At least, it felt like it!

20130306-220247.jpg

This side of pancakes wouldn’t fit into the picture. šŸ™‚

20130306-220320.jpg

Can you believe we ate all of that??!! Well, we took most of the fries home, but we killed everything else!

For a lighter, healthier dinner, I had some natto over some leftover sushi rice and homemade picked radish. Yum!

20130306-220756.jpg

I must confess that I have been terrible at keeping up with my photos. I haven’t caught a lot of the delicious food that I’ve been fortunate to enjoy! I missed photographing my mother-in-law’s deeelish tacos, a Thai takeout dinner and other tasty Mexican food that I’ve enjoyed — awful blogger! I’ll do better going forward, I promise!

For now, I have to also confess that I think I have a new addiction…gel manicures with Japanese nail art! I got them done last month before the wedding and my hands looked like this for our big day:

20130306-221955.jpg

LOVED the little accent on my right thumb!

20130306-222121.jpg

My mother actually helped me select it. šŸ˜€

So today I went back to the salon to have the gel removed only because my nails were actually getting too long and uncomfortable for work. They still looked fabulous actually, so I was sad to see them go…so much so that I decided to get them done again! I decided to branch out and try something new instead of just a regular French manicure so now they look like this:

20130306-222635.jpg

20130306-222654.jpg

It took me a long time to select all of the nail art. When I saw the bow, I absolutely HAD to do it!

20130306-222806.jpg

Love my nails! The color and style are a bit out of my comfort zone, but I really like how festive they look! It also just feels so good to be pampered and feel polished! They are not cheap, but the beautiful thing about gel nails is that they will last me about 3 weeks or longer without looking raggedy like a regular manicure after just a week. I think these will look great as they grow out, too. It will be hard to go back to regular nails and nail polish, but for now I will enjoy my gel nails and nail art for as long as I can!

Leave a Reply

Categories

